Vacation, cravings, weight loss, paleo, & running

Standard

I guess it’s been awhile since I posted, huh?

First. Vacation was wonderful. As always, it went entirely too fast. I had an excellent time with my boyfriend, and family. I am always in a state of utter happiness when I am at the beach, so it couldn’t have been better. However, I struggled with cravings more than I ever have up until this point. I guess at 3.5 months (107 days today), the novelty of counting days has worn off, and reality is setting in.  Four of the six in our group drank every day on the beach. It wasn’t much, but it was enough to make me feel like I was being “left out” and to make me think that never drinking again is an overwhelming thought. I really wanted to visit some places that I love down there, but inevitably opted against it, because they were places I’d ALWAYS drank before, and I decided in my fragile craving state, it wouldn’t be a great idea. Instead, we played mini golf, went shopping, and even visited towns we might move to in a few years. The cravings passed once I had my mind on something else. I also spent a lot of time with my nephew, because following around a 2 year old left me with no time to mope around.

I was relieved to find out that I only gained 2lbs on vacation. This is much better than the 8 lbs that I’ve gained on previous vacations. This year was my first year going to the beach on my gluten free diet, so that probably had a lot to do with it. Not overloading on fried foods and fatty desserts was a GOOD thing.

In terms of being healthy, I’ve made the decision to go Paleo. I’ve been thinking about this for over a year now, and now that I have to eliminate a lot because of my celiac, I figure I might as well go for it. I haven’t been able to lose weight, and I’m tired of calorie counting. Paleo just seems like the right way to go. I’ve already gotten my fair share of shit about it, but it’s my body and I have the right to make the decision to eat in a healthy manner, not to mention all the great things I hear about it. It’s going to be hard. It’s going to be a lot more preparation and cooking on my part, but that’s a good thing. I need to start being more handy in the cooking department. The only thing I worry about, is running.

I made the mistake in May of going on a LOW CARB diety thing before a half marathon. I totally bonked and did horrible because my body was not properly fueled. I know fruits and veggies have carbs, but I’m going to have to do a lot of reading about Paleo and long distance running. Either way, in just a day and a half, I already feel less bloated then I normally do. I can’t wait to see how this makes me feel long term. I have a half marathon this weekend (that I’m really am not prepared for) and two more in October. I really hope I’m more accustomed to it by then..

6 responses »

  1. I dabble in Paleo cooking. I gave up carbs over a year ago and did a sort of South Beach thing. But now I do like to just do the Paleo thing because it feels healthier. In case you haven’t heard of it, there is a really great cookbook called Paleo Comfort Foods. I highly recommend it.

    Glad to hear you had a good vacation!

  2. hey! i recently thought about trying paleo mainly cuz my acupuncturist rec’d it. i have been veggie for years, though, and on and off have been eating mainly poultry and fish for the past few. but, i don’t think i like meat enough to manage it. plus, i love legumes (and tofu), so… let me know how it goes for you. and, good job resisting your cravings! i still have mine, but they’re getting less and less. it helps to be busy. sounds like you are! keep goin’ strong…

  3. Hi I just found your blog. I’m also sober and follow a mostly Paleo diet! If you haven’t already heard of it, I think the book “It Starts With Food,” is a great entry point. Can’t wait to see how it goes.

Leave a comment